School Directory
Back to All News

2023 Edwin Parr Award Nominee

Posted on Mar 15, 2023

The Medicine Hat Catholic Board of Education is pleased to announce that Mr. Derek Whitson, Grade 5/6 Teacher and Academy Instructor at St. Francis Xavier School, has been chosen to represent our division as the 2023 Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Edwin Parr Award Nominee! Derek will be recognized at the Public Board Meeting on May 9th at 4:30 p.m. held at Central Office.

"Derek has become an integral part of both our school and division community with his outstanding work inside and outside of the classroom. By promoting a positive mental health mindset, his classroom is one that allows all students the chance to feel heard but also loved. I commend him on his work to instill the qualities we at St. Francis promote as a school community. As a first year year teacher, building relationships with a new school community is often the most difficult part of the profession. Not only has he built strong relationships within the school community but his work volunteering within the broader community has strengthened the bond the school has with the city of Medicine Hat. Often sporting his school academy gear during his countless hours of community work, Derek is not only proud to be part of St. Francis but also embodies all that is St. Francis Xavier School!" -Mr. Ryan Irving, Principal

Each year, the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) honors six outstanding first year teachers for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award, one from each zone across the province. Derek, as well as the other Zone 6 nominees, will be acknowledged at a banquet later this spring. ASBA zone winners are then honoured at the Annual Fall Conference in Edmonton.

On Behalf of the Board of Trustees, we wish Derek all the best. Good luck Derek and congratulations on your nomination!