School Directory

Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française (DELF) Exam

The Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française (DELF) exam is an official certification of French-language proficiency for non-native speakers. It is administered by the French Ministry of Education and is recognized internationally.

Here are some key points about the exam:

  1. Levels: The exam is divided into four levels that correspond to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR):

    • DELF A1: Basic user
    • DELF A2: Elementary user
    • DELF B1: Intermediate user
    • DELF B2: Upper-intermediate user
  2. Skills Assessed: Each level tests four language skills:

    • Listening: Comprehension of spoken French.
    • Reading: Comprehension of written French.
    • Writing: Ability to write in French.
    • Speaking: Ability to speak in French.
  3. Structure: The exam consists of a combination of written and oral assessments, including:

    • Listening comprehension exercises.
    • Reading comprehension tasks.
    • Writing tasks.
    • Oral production tasks, including an interview or presentation.
  4. Purpose: The exam serves various purposes, such as:

    • Academic recognition: It may be required for admission to French universities.
    • Professional advantage: It can enhance job prospects by certifying French language skills.
    • Personal achievement: It provides a formal recognition of language proficiency.
  5. Eligibility: The DELF exam is open to all non-native French speakers, regardless of their background or age. There are also versions specifically designed for different age groups, such as DELF Prim for children and DELF Junior for teenagers.

Completion of this prestigious exam opens doors to educational, professional, and personal opportunities for students in adulthood. 

Are you wanting to give your child the gift of a second language? Click here to learn about K-12 French Immersion programming opportunities in Medicine Hat Catholic schools!