School Directory


About the Sacraments

A sacrament is a sacred and visible sign that is instituted by Jesus to give us grace, an undeserved gift from God. (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1084). Christ is also present every time each sacrament is celebrated. The Catholic Church has all of the seven sacraments instituted by Christ, which include Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. 

Sacramental preparation takes place in our local Catholic parishes.


For Catholics, the Sacrament of Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. Whether we are baptized as infants or adults, Baptism is the Church's way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God.

  • Baptism is typically celebrated when a child is a baby but a person can be baptized at any time in life.


The Catholic Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as  Penance, Confession, and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession, and celebration. In it we find God's unconditional forgiveness; as a result, we are called to forgive others.

  • First Reconciliation is typically celebrated in grade 2.


Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus present in the Eucharist.   As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God. 

  • First Eucharist is typically celebrated in grade 2.


Confirmation is a Catholic Sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. It is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation for Catholics. It is most often associated with the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

  • Confirmation is typically celebrated in grade 6.



Become an Altar Server!

If your child has received his/her First Communion please consider becoming an altar server.   For more information contact Holy Family Parish or St. Patrick’s Parish.