### -2014-

#### MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING OF THE MEDICINE HAT CATHOLIC BOARD OF EDUCATION held at the Catholic Education Centre on October 8, 2024 at 2:45 p.m.

## TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS PRESENT

Kathy Glasgo Robert Risling Bernie Kinch David Leahy Dick Mastel Dwayne Zarichny Nick Gale Greg MacPherson Hugh Lehr Heather Irvine Derrian Hallas Chelsey Lybbert Board Chair Vice-Chair Trustee Trustee Superintendent of Schools Deputy Superintendent Secretary Treasurer Associate Superintendent Learning Services Religious Education Coordinator Communications Coordinator Executive Assistant to the Superintendent (Recorder)

## CALL TO ORDER

Note: The meeting was chaired by Kathy Glasgo, Board Chair.

## OPENING PRAYER

Note: The opening prayer was led by Rev. Robert Risling.

# LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Note: Dr. Zarichny read the land acknowledgement.

# **ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING**

Note: Mr. MacPherson took over chairing of the meeting.

### **ELECTION OF OFFICER – BOARD CHAIR**

- Note: Mr. MacPherson called for nominations of Board Chair. Dcn. Risling nominated Ms. Glasgo for Chair. Ms. Glasgo accepted the nomination.
- Note: Mr. MacPherson called for further nominations for Board Chair. No further nominations.
- 4096 Motion. Kinch: "Moved to close nominations."

Carried unanimously.

Note: Ms. Kathy Glasgo is acclaimed as Board Chair of the Medicine Hat Catholic Board of Education.

# **ELECTION OF OFFICER – VICE-CHAIR**

- Note: Mr. MacPherson called for nominations of Vice-Chair. Ms. Glasgo nominated Dcn. Risling for Vice-Chair. Dcn. Risling accepted the nomination.
- Note: Mr. MacPherson called for further nominations for Vice-Chair. No further nominations.
- 4097 Motion. Mastel: "Moved to close nominations."

Carried unanimously.

- Note: Dcn. Robert Risling is acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Medicine Hat Catholic Board of Education.
- Note: Ms. Glasgo took over chairing the meeting.

# **COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS**

Reference: Board Policy 8 – Committees of the Board

Note: Ms. Glasgo announced trustee committee appointments would remain the same as the previous year apart from the ATA Negotiation Committee. Mr. Leahy requested that Dcn. Rilsing replace him on the ATA Negotiation Committee. All other committee appointments remain the same.

Committees:

- Negotiation Committee Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA): Dick Mastel, Robert Risling
- Negotiation Committee Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE): Robert Risling
- Teacher Board Advisory Committee: Bernie Kinch
- Support Staff Board Advisory Committee: Robert Risling
- CUPE Support Staff Board Advisory Committee: David Leahy
- Student Board Advisory Committee: Kathy Glasgo
- School Parish Relations Committee: Robert Risling
- Audit Committee: David Leahy, Bernie Kinch and Kathy Glasgo

## **BOARD REPRESENTATIVES**

Reference: Board Policy 9 – Board Representatives

Note: Ms. Glasgo announced trustee representatives would remain the same as the previous year.

Representatives:

- Alberta School Boards' Association Zone 6: Dick Mastel
- Alberta Catholic School Trustees' Association: Kathy Glasgo
- Medicine Hat Catholic Schools' Education Foundation: Bernie Kinch
- Parent Association: Kathy Glasgo
- Teachers' Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA): Dick Mastel

# SIGNING AUTHORITY

Note: Signing authority remains the same.

# **REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS**

4098 Motion. Kinch: "THAT the Board of Trustees for the Medicine Hat Catholic Board of Education holds their regularly scheduled monthly board meetings on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Tuesday of month at 2:45 p.m. and that the Committee of the Whole Meetings are held the week prior to the public meeting and that the meetings are held at the Catholic School Board Office unless otherwise determined."

Carried unanimously.

#### CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE

Note: As per board's policies 4 and 7 as well as the Education Act each trustee must complete a conflict-of-interest disclosure form and return it to Mr. MacPherson.

# ADJOURNMENT

Note: The organizational meeting was adjourned by Ms. Glasgo, Board Chair.

Note: The meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m.

Kathy Glasgo, Board Chair

Greg MacPherson, Secretary Treasurer